ftc-2016-post-kickoff-promoWelcome to FIRST Tech Challenge in Tampa Bay, and the 2016-17 engineering challenge, Velocity Vortex!

This is the home on the web for the Robotics Organized Builders of Tampa (ROBOT) League consisting of about 20 teams from Hillsborough, Pasco, Pinellas and Polk counties.

This year’s engineering game challenges teams to build a robot in 8-12 weeks that, working with alliance teams, can earn points by scoring game into their alliance’s Center Vortex or Corner Vortex. Robots may also claim Beacons for their alliance by triggering them to illuminate their alliance color. See the game video below, or check out the one page game description. Game manuals and resources are on the FIRST Tech Challenge page at FIRSTInspires.org

Florida: A League of Our Own

The Florida FIRST® Tech Challenge (FTC®) program has led the way with the League Play tournament system for FIRST , piloting the program during the 2012 and 2013 seasons.  League play is now the established format here in Florida, under the direction of the Florida FIRST Tech Challenge Program Committee.

The Florida FTC Program Committee and League Leaders join together to provide volunteer training, workshops, practice days, meets and league championships: that follow the rules, judging processes and scoring as specified by FIRST Tech Challenge Headquarters; that are fairly judged and refereed; and that are fun for teams and spectators.

Florida Leagues

Florida FTC teams are assigned to groups consisting of 8 to 24 teams each, called Leagues.  There are now ten Leagues in Florida.  In addition to the ROBOT League in Tampa Bay area, are:

  • Florida Region
  • Tesla Robotic League – Orlando/Orange County
  • Pinellas County League -St. Petersburg
  • Southwest Robotics League – Cape Coral/Ft. Myers
  • Broward-MiamiDade South Florida League of Unstoppable Gatorbots  -Miami/Ft. Lauderdale
  • North East Florida  League – Jacksonville
  • Space Coast League – Brevard/Seminole Counties
  • Orange League – Orange County area
  • Palm Beach County

Teams compete at several of their own League Meets and their League Championship.  The team’s win-loss-tie record, judging scores, and a judged team-created video determines each team’s state ranking.  The top twenty-four ranked teams that attended three or more competitions (Meets or League Championships) receive invitations to attend the Florida Championship.

Please read the  Florida FTC Guide to League Play for complete League competition details.

One Response to Welcome!

  1. Kelly Linendoll says:

    Hello, my son(12) is interested in participating on a team. We are located in Citrus County so we were referred here. Are there any spots available?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s